Travel Reviews - Play Hard Have Fun

Travel Reviews

Trip Advisor

Tonycp55 is a Level 7 contributor with over 70,000 readers of my 170 reviews worldwide.

Presently ranked in the top 1% of all reviewers in the Atlanta, GA area.

I retired and sold our home at the end of 2014 and have been nomads ever since.

We are running all over the world and blog our adventures at PlayHard-HaveFun.com.

I have over 38 trip advisor badges and presently a Hotel and Restaurant Expert.

“Disappointed with my tip”

Review of Mi Pueblo
5ta Avenida y Calle 8 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico +52 984 803 0332
Very nice restaurant on 5th Avenue but the waiter was disappointed with my 15% tip. That fact left a bad taste in my mouth after an otherwise great meal.
Visited April 2016

“The best of the best”

Review of A-nah Suites
There are plenty of places to rent in the Playa Del Carmen area. We found our place through AirBNB and was so pleased with this Condo. We had everything we needed. It was close to the beach and the famous 5th avenue. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the suites themselves were great. The rooftop pool was the cherri on top.
Stayed April 2016, traveled as a couple

“Many say it is the best”

Review of NAU
Avenida 15 Con Calle 8 | In front of the City Hall, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico 5219841974121
I have to agree. We had their Soupy Shrimp and it was outstanding. The service was top notch and the price was right. I highly recommend this restaurant.
Visited April 2016

“No English Menu”

Review of El Fogon
Calle 6th bis & 30th Ave., Playa del Carmen 12345, Mexico
Ranked #24 of 1,031 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen | 3,109 Reviews | Certificate of Excellence
Price range: MX$89 – MX$178
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
Great food and plenty of it but they don’t have menus in English. No big deal since I have an Translate App but it would have been helpful to save a menu in English.
Visited April 2016

“Watch out if they take your picture”

Review of Pez Vela
Calle 2, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
We were having s great time swinging and drinking at the bar when someone from the bar came up and took our picture. Little did we know that it was going to end up on a small bottle of Tequila. For 20 US we had to buy it but did not see that coming. No big deal, but it was a surprise to me. The Swings, drinks and bartender made for a great time.
Visited April 2016

“Roasted corn is a must”

Review of Canibal Royal
48th North St & Mar Caribe | Col. Colosio Between Flamingo & Albatros Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Their roasted corn on the cob was perfect fora light snack with a cold beverage. The location by the water added to the experience. The corn came with a very tasty chilly sauce which was excellent.
Visited April 2016

“Got to get the whole fish”

Review of Restaurant La Casa Grill
5th Ave, between 6 and 8, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 8032110
Ranked #344 of 1,031 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
The whole fish dish is a must. Also nice to have your margarita made for you table side. This price is a bit pricey but it is worth it.

“Tasty and healthy choice”

Review of BIO-Natural
10 Av Entre Constituyentes y 16 | Behind Quinta Alegria Shopping Mall, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico +52 984 147 3181
Glad to see there was a restaurant/market near our apartment that has healthy choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Their veggie burger and veggie paella were both very tasty. The smoothies are also a must.
Visited April 2016

“No Kilkenny in this Irish Pub”

Review of McCarthys Irish Pub
5av Corner St 22, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico 8033836
I friend of ours that frequents Playa Del Carmen recommend this restaurant and she did not steer us wrong. Both our dishes were outstanding and worth the trip. They don’t take credit cards but the ATM is right next door.
Visited April 2016

“Highly recommended”

Review of La Cueva del Chango
38th Street Between 5ta Avenue and the Sea | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710
I friend of ours that frequents Playa Del Carmen recommend this restaurant and she did not steer us wrong. Both our dishes were outstanding and worth the trip. They don’t take credit cards but the ATM is right next door.
Visited April 2016

“So so wings”

Review of Tequila Barrel
5th Ave | between 10th and 12th, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico +52 984 873 1061
Look like they are a nice size wings but turns out it is just a lot of breeding. The Barbecue sauce was finger licking good.
They also served out favorite drink, Kuala Colada made it a nice place to eat and drink.
Visited April 2016

“I love Ziosk”

Review of Chili’s
3660 Camp Creek Pkwy SW, Atlanta, GA 30331
Ranked #2,280 of 3,723 Restaurants in Atlanta | 22 Reviews
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reviewed February 12, 2016
It is great when a restaurant has Ziosk but it has to be the right one. We were ready to check out but turns out the wrong one was at our table. The very helpful waiter switched ours out but the printer for our receipt did not work. That explains it. The meals made up for the malfunction but not saying goodbye to your guests by the hosts and the manager was just plain rude.

“Rough around the edges”

Review of La Fiesta Restaurant
5370 Hwy 92, Fairburn, GA
Ranked #18 of 44 Restaurants in Fairburn | 7 Reviews
Cuisines: Mexican
Reviewed February 11, 2016
You could tell this restaurant had been around awhile but the food was excellent. The service was pretty darn good also. We will probably go out of our way to eat here again. As an added benefit we felt we got a great value for our hard earned dollars.

“Needs a facelift”

Review of Ruby Tuesday
3390 Camp Creek Pkwy, East Point, GA 30344 404-344-0221
Ranked #27 of 49 Restaurants in East Point | 55 Reviews
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reviewed February 11, 2016
Food and service was good but the restaurant needs a face lift. The salad bar was above par but the menu was a bit pricey for similar food elsewhere.

“Wireless needs an upgrade”

Review of Daytona Beach KOA
3520 S. Nova Road, Port Orange, FL 32129 
This was a very nice and clean KOA Campground but the wireless system is useless. Check in was fast and easy with the friendly staff. The sites were well stocked which included two lounge chairs and grill. Having garbage pick up all day long was a nice touch along with the many flowers planted around the area gave the entire area clean and pleasing to the eye. The problem with the wireless system is that there are not enough routers to handle the number of motorhomes on site. Even if you get on one of the three routers the system is very slow if you don’t get kicked off after a few minutes. Forget about trying to use it at night. With everyone trying to get online it is impossible for a reliable online experience.
Stayed January 2016

“A little Noisy”

Review of SoNapa Grille
3406 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169 +1 386-402-8647
Food was great and the Waitress was outstanding but the location of the bar area made it hard to carry on a conversation. Niki was our waitress and I asked her what I should eat if I was never coming back and she gave two dishes to pick from depending on if I wanted seafood or a meat dish. I choose the Flat Iron steak and it was cooked to perfection and the presentation was eye opening. My partner picked the seared scollops and she said it was so good that she was not willing to share. The only downside to the dinning experience was the fact that they not only had the bar area nearby but also some tables near the bar and adjacent to our table where people were able to stand and enjoy drinks. The group was very noisy and it make it difficult to hold a conversation to the other couple we were with. I would come back if in the area but now know better to take a table near that area surrounding the bar.
Visited January 2016

“Hit this one out of the park”

Review of La Fiesta
3785 S Nova Rd, Port Orange, FL 32129 (386) 760-2929
This was my first time to this restaurant and new to the city. Friends that I was visiting recommended this restaurant since I was in the mood for Mexican food and they were regulars. They were met at the door by name and the waitress also remembered them and wished them Happy New Year. I and my friend both had a glass of Sangria to drink and they were outstanding, fruit and all. Chips arrived right after we sat down and our host asked for a special white salsa which I had never heard of before but quickly became my favorite. There was so many items to choose from and was told that even though they have not had everything they knew that all the meals are well prepared. I had a combo plate which there was actually several to choose from and my partner had the Salmon. The food arrived quick and well cooked and we both enjoyed every bite. The prices were reasonable and the pace of the entire meal including the check was well timed. Our waitress had a smile the entire time we were there and it was easy to see that everyone at the front door appreciated our business as we left. We arrived early in the dinner time frame but by the time we left at 5:45 the place was quickly filling up.
Visited January 2016

“Needs some work”

Reviewed January 13, 2016
Stayed 3 nights at the KOA campground near the Kennedy space center and it was very nice but this place could use a face lift. Everyone here was great and the nearby neighborhoods were great for a jog or bike ride. You can stay on sidewalks all the way for a 3 mile bike ride to the grocery store but you are share a road if trying to do the same if wanting to go into town for dinner.
Looks like there are a lot of full timers here but I hope one day they can use that revenue to work on the esthetics of the campground. We have stayed at a number of KOA’s and they were all better than the one here. At night their wireless system is useless and most of their washers and dryers were out of service. I would come back if in the area since we enjoyed the surrounding are so much.

“Fantastic Jazz by vocalist Deborah Davis with Randy Cannon Trio”

Reviewed March 15, 2015
We were delighted to find this perfect place to spend an evening in Bangkok listening to the four of them.
The service was also top notch and the comfortable setting made it a memorable evening. Next time we will enjoy something to eat.
Stayed March 2015

GMSGS, General Manager at Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear Tonycp55,
Thank you very much for your visit to The Living Room and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It gives me great pleasure to read that you had enjoyed the ambiance, level of customer service as well as the live jazz performance with the Randy Cannon Group and Deborah Davis. Your compliments had been shared with the team and we all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Richard Chapman
General Manager

“Executive Treatment”

Reviewed March 31, 2015
Everyone at the Mayfair, Bangkok- Marriott Executive Apartments treated us like we were family. They were first class in every way. The hotel was in a great location and the staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions on what to do and see while there.
We will return in the very near future

%22Location, Location, Location%22

We have been to Amsterdam before and was looking for a great location. We found it here and the staff was very helpful at checkin. This hotel is in the middle of it all. You can easily catch a train from the airport and walk to the hotel’s front door. The Westerpark is within a mile if you would like to go for a jog and if you would like to see all that Amsterdam has to offer this hotel is near it all.
Stayed May 2016

“Flawless WiFi”

Review of Hilton Helsinki Strand

We have traveled all over the world over the last 18 months and one thing that is important to us is WiFi at the hotel. I must say some are ok and others and not so good. The Wifi here at the Hilton works no matter where you are in the hotel. The gym area is also great and I really enjoyed the sauna. The staff has been very helpful with local area information. I will be sure to stay here the next time I am in Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2016

“Great price for half a day”

Our flight did not depart until 9pm.
I asked if they had a half day rate an was told for 22 euro we could keep our room until 6pm. That was perfect since that was the time we would be leaving for the airport. The location was not the best but there was a mall across the street where there was an cinema, restaurants and a grocery store. The rooms were a bit small and the AC was a bit confusing to operate.

Stayed May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLassier, Vezető at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review,

Dear Valud Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and telling us about your experience on tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that we could reach your expectations and you could enjoy our hotel and service for an extra half day.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon to our hotel

Kind Regards

Attila Lenart

Guest Relations Officer

“Great Variety of beers”

Review of Paulaner Sorhaz

We went there for dinner and really enjoyed all the beers to choose from. The Pork Knuckle starter dish was very good. It was enough for an entire meal.

  • Visited May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Paulaner Sorhaz, responded to this review

Dear Tonycp55,

Thank you very much for your absolutely positive review about us! We are really glad to read that you had an enjoyable dinner here.

First of all, we are very thankful for choosing our bar, Paulaner. It made us proud that you were pleased with our selection of beers. Moreover, it is also nice to hear that you liked the dish which was served to you.

All in all, it was such a pleasure to host you in our bar. We hope you return to us and we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Paulaner Management

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This